Basketball players

11 female Highland County basketball players named to all-district coaching roster; Dean named co-player of the year in Div. II

Eleven female basketball players from Highland County have been recognized on the 2021-22 District 14 Coaches Association All-District List – including a co-player of the year – as released by the Association on Thursday. 3rd of March.

All five Highland County schools were represented on the roster for the season, with five Division II players, four Division III players and two Division IV players named to the roster.

Topping Division II, Hillsboro senior Gracie Dean not only was named to the first team, but also earned co-player of the year honors for the division. II, with Chillicothe junior Jacey Harding. Dean was also selected as a representative for the Division II North/South All-Star Game.

Also in Division II, Brianna Bledsoe senior of Hillsboro and Payton Pryor junior of McClain were named to the second team.

Win Div. II honorable mention were Iva Easter McClain senior and Hillsboro freshman Blake Herdman.

In Division III, Highland County had a first-team winner at Fairfield senior Emma Fouch. Lynchburg-Clay sophomore Jade Massey was named to the second team.

Appointed Div. Third honorable mention was Lynchburg-Clay sophomore Macy Etienne and Fairfield junior Peyton Magee.

For Division IV, Whiteoak had two recognized players. Sophomore Jaylie Parr earned second-team honors, while freshman Darby Yeager was named honorable mention.

Here is the full 2021-22 list of girls from all districts as submitted by the Association:

Section II

first team
Gracie Dean, Hillsboro, Senior
Jacey Harding, Chillicothe, Junior
Avery Miller, Unioto, Senior
Kelli Stewart, Waverly, Junior
Hillary JacobsMiami TraceJunior

second team
Payton Pryor, McClain, Junior
Amelia Uhrig, Unioto, second year
Bailey Vulgamore, Waverly, Junior
Gabby McConnell, Circleville, sophomore
Brianna Bledsoe, Hillsboro, senior

Honorable Mention
Avery Erslan, Chillicothe, Junior
Faith Yancey, Circleville, sophomore
Blake Herdman, Hillsboro, Freshman
Freshman Hannah Rhoads, Logan Elm
Iva Easter, McClain, Senior
Libby Aleshire, Miami Trace, senior
Amaris Betts, Unioto, sophomore
Aaralyne Estep, Washington Courthouse, Senior
Ava Little, Waverly, Senior

Division II Co-Players of the Year
Gracie Dean, Hillsboro, Senior
Jacey Harding, Chillicothe, Junior

Division II Coach of the Year
Jeff Miller, Unito

Division II North/South All Star Game
Gracie Dean, Hillsboro, Representative
Avery Miller, Unioto, alternate

Girls’ Division II Assistant Coach of the Year
Mark Hannah, Waverly

Section III

first team
Allison Basye, Huntington, senior
Rylee Leonard, Eastern Brown, Junior
Emma Garrison, Adena, Sophomore
Alaina Keeney, Wheelersburg, senior
Emma Fouch, Fairfield, senior

second team
Jade Massey, Lynchburg-Clay, sophomore
Torie Utter, Eastern Brown, Senior
Makenna Walker, Wheelersburg, Junior
Laney Ruckel, North Adams, Junior
Keetyn Hupp, North Adams, Junior

Third team
Daysha Reid, Portsmouth, first year
Ava Jenkins, Northwest, Senior
Emma Sayre, Portsmouth West, second year
Jazzlyn Lamerson, Piquet, Junior
Alexa Rowe, West Union, senior

Honorable Mention
Jadyn Smith, Adena, senior
Mackenzie Gloff, Eastern Brown, Senior
Peyton MageeFairfieldJunior
Emma Hinshaw, Huntington, second year
Macy Etienne, Lynchburg-Clay, sophomore
Lindsee Williams, Minford, Freshman
Sierra Kendall, North Adams, senior
Kloe Montgomery, North West, Senior
Natalie Cooper, Piquet, Junior
Nia Trinidad, Portsmouth, Senior
Lexi Deaver, Portsmouth West, Junior
Gabby Pernell, Southeast, sophomore
Madison Montgomery, Valley, Junior
Molly Percell, West Union, senior
Gabby Patete, Westfall, senior
Lexie Rucker, Wheelersburg, Junior
Emily Allen, Zane Trace, senior

Division III Player of the Year
Allison Basye, Huntington, senior

Division III Coach of the Year
Dusty Spradlin, Wheelersburg

Division III Assistant Coach of the Year
Lee Snyder, Adena

Division IV

first team
Bri Claxon, South Webster, Senior
Kasey Kimbler, green, senior
Annie Dettwiller, Notre Dame, Junior
Olivia Smith, Paint Valley, senior
Payton Johnson, Peebles, second year

second team
Abby Cochenour, northern pike, senior
Kenzie Morrison, Peebles, senior
Jaylie Parr, Whiteoak, second year
Faith Maloney, South Webster, Senior
Abbie Stanforth, Paint Valley, Senior

Third team
Gracie Ashley, Notre Dame, sophomore
Hanna Uhrig, Paint Valley, senior
Addison Cochenour, northern pike, senior
Ella Kirby, Notre Dame, sophomore
Anna Knapp, green, junior
MacKenzie Whitley, New Boston, senior

Honorable Mention
Morgan McCoy, clay, junior
Kylie Weaver, Eastern Pike, Freshman
Kayle Christian, green, senior
Dylan O’Rourke, New Boston, Junior
Katie Strickland, Notre Dame, sophomore
Averi McFadden, Paint Valley, Junior
Marisa Moore, Peebles, Senior
Felicia Smith, Sciotoville, senior,
Skylar Zimmerman, South Webster, sophomore
Kenzie Ferneau, western, junior
Darby Yeager, Whiteoak, Freshman

Division IV Player of the Year
Bri Claxon, South Webster, Senior

Division IV Coach of the Year
JD McKenzie, Notre Dame

Division IV Assistant Coach of the Year
Matt Raynard, South Webster

Division III and IV North/South All Star Game
Allison Basye, Huntington, Representative
Bri Claxon, South Webster, alternate.