Basketball players

Former Michigan basketball players set for NBA Summer League debut

Several former Michigan basketball players will participate in the NBA Summer League, with the first entering the court on Tuesday, July 5. The showcase for (mostly) young players features seven former Wolverines, including four rookies. The games will be broadcast on ESPN networks as well as NBA TV.

Caleb Houstan and Moussa Diabaté were Michigan’s draft picks last month. Houstan was selected with the second pick of the second round, 32nd overall, by the Orlando Magic. In the Summer League, he will team up with Zavier Simpson, who last played for Michigan in the 2019-20 season.

Simpson made his NBA debut in April for the Oklahoma City Thunder, starting and playing heavy minutes in the final four games of the regular season. He played in the Summer League last year with the Los Angeles Lakers (there were no games in 2020).

The Magic will open the Las Vegas portion of the Summer League, where all 30 teams will participate, against Houston on Thursday (10 p.m. ET, ESPN).

Diabaté, the 43rd overall pick of the Los Angeles Clippers, will be on the field Saturday against Memphis (9:30 p.m., NBA TV).

A pair of undrafted rookies will get a chance to impress their team (or one of the other 29 NBA clubs). Eli Brooks will play for the Indiana Pacers, who open Friday against Charlotte (6 p.m., ESPN2). DeVante’ Jones will go to Oklahoma City, which kicks off in the Salt Lake City portion of the Summer League on Tuesday (9 p.m. ET, ESPN2)

Two sophomores, Isaiah Livers and Chaundee Brown Jr., will also be in Vegas. Livers will play for the Pistons, for whom he played 19 games last season after being drafted in the second round. He missed the Summer League last year while recovering from foot surgery. Brown will play for the Atlanta Hawks; he played three games for them last season after playing with the Summer League side Lakers. The games, which started with four teams playing a round-robin tournament in San Francisco on Saturday, run until July 17.