Basketball players

Houston-area basketball players selected for HABCA All-Star Game

Eleven boy basketball players from the Northwest Houston area have been selected to compete in the 2022 Houston Area Basketball Coaches Association All-Star Game on Wednesday, May 4, at Stafford High School, the association announced April 21.

The event consists of two games: Team (David) President vs. Team (Shannon) Heston, scheduled for 6 p.m., and Team (Jeff) Hamilton vs. Team Huffmeister, with kickoff scheduled for 7:30 p.m. Mason Huffmeister of Cypress Ranch will coach Team Huffmeister.

Players from four Cy-Fair ISD teams, three Spring ISD teams and one Magnolia ISD team were selected. Westfield, Cypress Falls and Bridgeland were each represented by two players.

Westfield senior forward Mario Johnson and senior guard Blake Washington will play for the Hamilton team. They will be joined by Bridgeland senior guard Keddric Mays.

The rest of the Hamilton squad includes AJ Aungst of Atascocita, Angel Johnson and Kanye Ortiz, Demi Areola of Kingwood, Joshua Bartley of Kingwood Park, Sam Bradford and Darius Woodson of Goose Creek Memorial, Clayton Davis of Hardin Jefferson and Kennedy Ward of Lamar.

Mays will face teammate senior guard Luke Ramirez who will be on the Huffmeister team alongside seven others from the Northwest Houston area: senior Cypress Falls forward Jesaiah McWright and teammate senior guard Xavier Scott , Spring High senior guard Leslie Newsome, Cypress Creek senior guard TJ Ashford, Dekaney senior guard Jayden Jackson, Cypress Ranch senior forward Dubem Muoneke and Magnolia West senior guard Jacob Homer.

The rest of the Huffmeister team includes Zion Bourgeois of Fort Bend Bush, Luke Hatcher of Stratford, Chris Marshall of FB Marshall and Devonte Robertson of Cleveland.

Team President includes Cam Amboree and Shawn Jones of Shadow Creek, Nick Anderson and Alex Ferrell of Clear Creek, Tyree Davis and Hayden Windsor of Dawson, Seth Jones of Dickinson, Alex Lee of Clear Lake, Ke’Mauri Millender of Clear Brook, Allen Singleton of Clear Springs, Quevon of LaPorte Walley and Aaron Williams of Hightower.

The Heston team includes Isaiah Barganier from Fulshear, Roger Cardenas from Pasadena Memorial, Charles Chukwu and Trevor Frank from Paetow, Jason Clark and Nick Lancit from Tompkins, Dayvaughn Froe from Katy, Deven Lendsey from Dobie, Quavious Lilly from Stafford, Gerry Ray from Terry, Ethan Van Horn of Seven Lakes and Chancellor of Foster White.

Coach Departure Klein Cain

Former Klein Cain volleyball head coach Kristin Lemoine will fill the same role at Magnolia West, Magnolia ISD announced on the district’s website.

Lemoine has 11 years of coaching experience and has been head coach at Klein Cain for the past two years. She has also coached in Nederland and New Caney. She received the AVCA Thirty Under Thirty Award in 2021 and graduated from Howard Payne University with a bachelor’s degree in exercise science and sports science.

Under Lemoine, the Lady Hurricanes earned their first playoff berth in program history, ranking second in the district 15-6A in 2020-21 and fourth in 2021-22. They went three rounds deep two years ago and were knocked out in the first round last season.

Former Cy Falls coach honored

Former Cypress Falls basketball coach Jim Draudt was inducted into the Houston Area Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame in April.

Draudt coached for a total of 44 years, the last two decades at Cypress Falls. He helped lay the foundation for Cypress Falls, leading the Golden Eagles from the school’s opening in 1992 until his retirement in 2014.

The Golden Eagles have won 593 games under Draudt, won nine district titles and qualified for the playoffs more than 10 times.

Richard Flores was chosen to take over Cypress Falls. Jim Draudt’s son, Chris, is the head coach of Cypress Woods.

[email protected]