Basketball players

Seven Inland Basketball Players Named CIF Southern Section Players of the Year – Press Enterprise

Donovan Dent and Jared McCain have been inseparable on the court, so it’s only fitting that Centennial’s backcourt duo shared Open Division Player of the Year honors as the CIF South Section released their basketball awards Monday afternoon.

Centennial guard Jared McCain #24 flies to the hoop for a lay-up as Sierra Canyon guard Mike Price #5 defends in the second half of the Open Division Boys Basketball Regional Championship game CIF State in Corona on Tuesday, March 8, 2022. (Photo by Terry Pierson, The Press-Enterprise/SCNG)

Dent, a senior point guard, and McCain, a junior shooter, helped the Huskies win a second consecutive Open Division title. Centennial dominated the Open Division playoffs, winning every game by at least 20 points.

For Dent, it’s the second year in a row he’s been honored with Open Division Player of the Year honors. He shared the award with Sierra Canyon’s Amari Bailey last season. Dent is the first men’s basketball player to be named player of the year in the division’s top division in consecutive seasons since Mater Dei’s Stanley Johnson (2013-14).

Kennedy Smith (11) of Etiwanda reaches for the ball during the CIF South Section Women’s Open Division Basketball Championship game against Sierra Canyon at Etiwanda High School in Rancho Cucamonga on Saturday February 26, 2022. (Photo by Trevor Stamp, contributing photographer)

The Interior region won player of the year honors in the open divisions, while Etiwanda’s Kennedy Smith won the award for the girls’ side. Smith, a sophomore forward, helped the Eagles win the program’s first section championship.

Rhylee Ghent of Santiago and Chloe Briggs of Christian of Ontario were chosen co-players of the year for the Division 2A Women’s Playoff Division. Ghent, a second-year keeper, helped Santiago win their third section title. Briggs, a junior guard, helped Ontario Christian advance to the division final for the third consecutive season. He’s Briggs’ second player of the year, having been voted Division 3AA MVP last season.

Rancho Cucamonga’s Shadale Knight, (#10), shoots the game-winning free throw with time expired to defeat Rancho Verde and win the CIF 3AA South Section Men’s Basketball Championship Friday night at Rancho Cucamonga High School in Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., February 25, 2022. (Contributing Photographer/John Valenzuela)

Rancho Cucamonga’s Shadale Knight was named the Division 3AA Men’s Player of the Year. Knight, a junior point guard, helped the Cougars win the program’s first title by hitting two untimed free throws in the championship game.

Fontana’s Joshua Okolugbo has been selected as the Division 5A Men’s Player of the Year. Okolugbo, a senior forward, helped the Steelers win the program’s first division championship in 27 seasons.

Centennial Boys Coach Josh Giles and Rancho Cucamonga Boys Coach Bill Burke were chosen Coach of the Year in their school’s playoff division after guiding their teams to sectional championships. Chaffey’s Erik Crull was named Division 5AA Men’s Coach of the Year after leading the Tigers to the program’s first Section Final in 60 years. Etiwanda girls coach Stan Delus and Santiago girls coach Michael Mitchell also received Coach of the Year honors for guiding their teams to sectional titles.

An additional 35 players from home schools – 20 boys and 15 girls – were selected for the first team in their respective playoff divisions.


Open division

Players of the Year: Donovan Dent, centenarian, father; Jared McCain, centenarian, Jr.

Coach of the Year: Josh Giles, centenarian

First team inside players: RJ Smith, Damien, Sr.; Jimmy Oladokun, Damien, So.; Devin Williams, centenarian, Jr.; Aaron McBride, centenarian, Jr.

Division 1

Player of the Year: Tyler Rolison, St. Bernard, Jr.

Coach of the Year: Tony Bland, St. Bernard

First team inside players: Jaden Henley, Colony, Sr.; Chance Stephens, Riverside Poly, Sr.

Section 2AA

Player of the Year: Emmanuel Taylor, Village Christian, Jr.

Coach of the Year: Julian Andrade, village Christian

First team inside player: Shyheim Parm, Cajon, Sr.

Division 2A

Players of the Year: Mark Reichner, San Juan Hills, Jr.; John McFadden, San Juan Hills, Sr.

Coach of the Year: Jason Efstathiou, San Juan Hills

First team inside player: Dennis Evans, Hillcrest, Jr.

Section 3AA

Player of the Year: Shadale Knight, Rancho Cucamonga, Jr.

Coach of the Year: Bill Burke, Rancho Cucamonga

First team inside players: Khemmani Davis, Rancho Verde, Sr.; Zach Ibbetson, Norco, Sr.; Aaron Glass, Rancho Cucamonga, Fr.; Maur Tablada, Chaparral, Sr.; Mike McNair, Linfield Christian, Jr.

Division 3A

Player of the Year: Tyler Williams, Bishop Diego, Sr.

Coach of the Year: James Coronado, Bishop Diego

Section 4AA

Player of the Year: Miguel Ortega, Garden Grove, Sr.

Coach of the Year: Brian Girard, Garden Grove

First team inside player: Isaias Salgado, San Dimas, Sr.

Section 4A

Player of the Year: Johny Dan, Torah Valley

Coach of the Year: Lior Schwartzberg, Torah Valley

First team inside player: Jaitice Hayes, Moreno Valley, Jr.

Section 5AA

Player of the Year: Shawn Tuano, Villanova Prep

Coach of the Year: Erik Crull, Chaffey

First team inside players: Tyler Terry, Chaffey, Sr.; Daniel Chavez, Chaffey, Sr.

Division 5A

Player of the Year: Josh Okolugbo, Fontana

Coach of the Year: Mark Sanchez, Westminster LaQuinta

First team inside players: Sergio Avalos, Fontana, Sr.; Esteban Perez, Fontana, Sr.; Nathaniel Noriega, United Christian Academy


Open division

Player of the Year: Kennedy Smith, Etiwanda, So.

Coach of the Year: Stan Delus, Etiwanda

First team inside players: Destiny Agubata, Etiwanda, So.; Londynn Jones, centenarian, Sr.; Sydni Summers, centenarian, Jr.

Division 1

Players of the Year: Kayla Keshmeshian, Viewpoint, Sr.; Karlee White, POV, Jr.

Coach of the Year: Will Burr, point of view

Section 2AA

Players of the Year: Sheridan Kennedy, Orange Lutheran, So.; Isabel Gomez, Sage Hill, Sr.

Coach of the Year: Lindsay Charity, Lutheran Orange

Division 2A

Players of the Year: Rylee Ghent, Santiago, So.; Chloe Briggs, Ontario Christian, Jr.

Coach of the Year: Michael MitchellSantiago

First team inside player: Shayla Gillmer, Ontario Christian, Sr.

Section 3AA

Player of the Year: Audrey Chen, La Salle, So.

Coach of the Year: Scott District, La Salle

First team inside player: Aanisah Moncrief, Summit, Jr.

Division 3A

Player of the Year: Brooklyn Shamblin, Oaks Christian, Fr.

Coach of the Year: Kristy Hopkins, Oaks Christian

First team inside player: Leiayjah Mills, Moreno Valley, P.

Section 4AA

Player of the Year: Kimiko Kennedy, Lawndale, So.

Coach of the Year: Neighborhood Jacquoby, Lawndale

First team inside players: Sierra Maxwell, Legacy, Fr.; Elfredia Bull, San Bernardino, Sr.; Carrington Davis, Rialto, P.

Section 4A

Player of the Year: Addison Deal, Orange County Pacifica Christian, p.

Coach of the Year: Lyle Takeshita, Temple City

First team inside players: Madeline DeKodia, Thomas Aquinas, Fr.; Bree Goldstein, CSDR, Sr.; Princess McCauley, San Jacinto Valley Academy, Jr.

Section 5AA

Player of the Year: Halle Sii, Christian from the Capistrano Valley, Sr.

Coach of the Year: Dominic Freeman, Capistrano Valley Christian

First team inside players: Calia Treder, Cal Lutheran, Sr.; Angelica Sanchez, Jurupa Valley, So.; Akami Garrett, Fontana, So.

Division 5A

Players of the Year: Kaziah Fletcher, Price, Sr.; Fort de Jade, Price, Fr.

Coach of the Year: Jillian Smith, award